Concert 4: Chinese instruments lecture concert: CUBE BAND demonstrating how they perform new work by Chong Kee Yong


Nov 12 2021

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: Nov 12 2021
  • Time: 5:00 am - 5:30 am
  • Event Details:

    --Featuring Chinese instrumentalists CUBE BAND demonstrating their instruments and how they work on the music composition “Walk through the 19th valley of the shadow of death” which is commissioned by Studio Acht and specially written for them by Malaysian composer Dr Chong Kee Yong.

    CUBE BAND is composed of guzheng, pipa and percussion, and is the first ensemble combination seen in Taiwan. The three musical instruments are like changing tones of different basic tones, showing the layers that are sometimes strong and sometimes gentle, bringing sparks between the dialogues of the instruments.

    Concert program


    “Walk through the 19th valley of the shadow of death” for Pipa, Guzheng and percussion by Chong Kee Yong *

    Performed by CUBE BAND (Guzheng/Wu Yen-hsuan , Pipa/Su Yun-han, Percussion/Fang Hsin)

    * World premiere; ** Malaysia premiere


Chong Kee Yong

Chong Kee Yong



Wu Yen-hsuan

Su Yun-han

Fang Hsin

Studio Acht